As an assigned team leader, you can cancel volunteer registrations from the registrations page — either cancel one at a time, or cancel in bulk for multiple volunteers at once. This is useful if a session or event can no longer go ahead, or if a volunteer's registration needs to be removed, for example because it was made in error or they're no longer able to attend.
Before you start
- You must be an assigned team leader for an event to access and update registrations.
- It's a good idea to search for the registration(s) you want to update first, so you don't accidentally cancel the wrong volunteer. Use the Search volunteer by name or email field to narrow things down.
Cancel a single registration
Step 1. Navigate to the registrations page
- Open the left-hand navigation bar and select Volunteering registrations.
Step 2. Find the registration
- Use the Search volunteer by name or email field, or use the filters to locate the registration. Learn more about searching and filtering for volunteering registrations as team leader.
Step 3. Update the status
- In the Status column for that volunteer's row, select the drop-down (currently showing Registered).
- Choose Cancelled from the list.
Step 4. Confirm the cancellation
- Complete the cancellation details in the confirmation window. See Confirming a cancellation below.
Cancel multiple registrations in bulk
Step 1. Navigate to the registrations page
- Open the left-hand navigation bar and select Volunteer registrations.
Step 2. Search and filter for the registrations you want to cancel
- Use the Search volunteer by name or email field to narrow down the list or use the filters to locate all relevant registrations. Learn more about searching and filtering for volunteering registrations as team leader.
Step 3. Select the registrations you want to cancel
- Tick the checkbox next to each volunteer's name that you want to include.
- Selecting at least one registration activates the Bulk action button in the top right of the page.
Step 4. Open the bulk action menu
- Select the Bulk action button.
- Choose Mark cancelled from the dropdown menu.
Step 5. Confirm the cancellation
- Complete the cancellation details in the confirmation window. See Confirming a cancellation below.
Confirming a cancellation
Whether you're cancelling a single registration or several at once, a Confirm cancellation window will appear before the change is applied:
- Send email notification to volunteer – This toggle is switched on by default. Leave it on to automatically notify the affected volunteer(s) by email that their registration has been cancelled, or switch it off if you don't want an email sent.
- What is the reason for cancellation? – Use this text box to add optional additional context (300 character limit). This may be included in the notification email to the volunteer.
- Select a cancellation reason – This drop-down is required. Choose the reason that best describes why the registration is being cancelled (for example, Cancelled by admin).
- Review the confirmation message (for example, Please confirm if you want to cancel 18 registrations) to make sure the correct number of registrations will be affected.
- Select Cancel registrations to confirm, or Cancel to close the window without making any changes.
Confirmation and next steps
Once confirmed, the selected registration(s) will move to the Cancelled tab, and the volunteer will receive an email notification if this you toggled this active. You can search or filter again to check the update was applied correctly.